Kaleido Proud Fiesta

Unison Square Garden – kaleido proud fiesta

Translated lyrics for the Tiger & Bunny second season OP.
JP lyrics from lyrical-nonsense.

And so, the story begins again

For this to have been fate, were you hoping for it?
I think the meaning will get through without saying anything, so I’ll shut up for now
The applause on the sidelines [1], always facing the future head-on
Everyone’s got anxieties that make them feel like they’ll fall

([Play it, ready? Louder! Please more!])
[C’mon please DJ] I’m asking for it, the rights this city boasts of
That feeling that urges me to fly even without wings
Even if I just sleep, the night will turn to dawn so
Run, move, aim, towards the goal [2]

Let’s make that wish come true, sing [kaleido fiesta]
It’s too beautiful to forget right, right, this vista
Can’t just you and I gaze longingly at this dream [3]
Just the instant of a prelude,
is the answer, right?
The festival bell rings
And so, the advance begins [4]

Breaking the top speed record, can you follow me?
It gets geometrically romantic, don’t miss it or it’ll puzzle you
“Your opinion”‘s [too much], please, I just want you to shut up a bit [5]
History’s most important drama awaits [6]
So if you comply,
you’ll understand in the sequel so
the now, now, now, now – can you be proud of it, right?

Even in unexpected sequence, sing [kaleido fiesta]
In other words, I don’t need [I miss you] anymore, I’m facing the future
That which lights the fire in my chest is like the memory of someone [7]
An awkward nocturne is already
a masterpiece
Thousands of joys
gathered in a chain
just like that

[C’mon please DJ] I’m asking for it, the rights this city boasts of
That feeling that urges me to fly even without wings
The endless starry sky [8], can we
now be proud of it?

Let’s make that wish come true, sing [kaleido fiesta]
It’s too beautiful to forget right, right, this vista
Can’t just you and I gaze longingly at this dream
Just the instant of a prelude,
is the answer, right?
The festival bell rings
And so, the advance begins
[kaleido fiesta]
The festival bell rings

gen: I’m taking a first-person view here as I feel that fits best, but there are generally not any pronouns involved, so most of these lines could easily be directed to someone or meant generally.
[1] lit. roadside
[2] this is awkward in EN, but the idea here is “push towards the goal you have now”
[3] to be clear, this is (just you and I) not (you and I) (just gaze)
[4] definitely a lyric twist, but think the same “moving forward/pushing foward” idea
[5] the “your opinion” bit here – it’s like a reporter asking for your opinion, if that makes sense
[6] lit. dorama i.e. show, not drama as in tragedy
[7] uh, this is real awkward in EN. more literally: from the bottom of my chest, that which lights me, is like the remembering someone. the “light” here is literally just that – shine, light, brighten – not spark or fire, but EN doesn’t really have an equivalent there.
[8] more literally “continually expansive”

Comment